Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Want to save this page for later?


Press Release

New York CPA Society Elects 2019–2020 Moynihan Scholarship Fund Board of Trustees

Maya Lindsay
Published Date:
Aug 13, 2019

NEW YORK – (August 13, 2019) – The New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants (NYSSCPA) is pleased to announce their new Moynihan Scholarship Fund Board of Trustees, a nine-member governing body, which includes positions such as president, president-elect, secretary/treasurer and trustees from each NYSSCPA region, who all began their terms of office on June 1.

The Moynihan Scholarship Fund benefits two worthwhile programs, the Career Opportunities in the Accounting Profession (COAP) and Excellence in Accounting Scholarship programs, both of which provide opportunities for students of color and other underrepresented groups. COAP is a multiday summer immersion program, designed to create a more diverse CPA profession in New York state. More than 4,000 high school students have participated in COAP since 1987. The Excellence in Accounting Scholarship provides financial assistance to underrepresented college students who meet or exceed certain academic standards and demonstrate financial need.

The Society’s Moynihan Scholarship Fund elected officers—

  • Scott M. Adair, President: Adair is the chief financial officer for the Rochester-Genesee Regional Transportation Authority and a councilman for the town of Henrietta. He received his B.S. in accounting from the State University of New York at Geneseo. Adair served as the president of the NYSSCPA from 2014–2015.
  • J. Michael Kirkland, President-elect: Kirkland is the founder and owner of JMK Consulting, and a veteran financial executive with over 30 years of experience in accounting, industry, consulting and business development. Kirkland earned his B.S. at Fordham University’s New York College of Business Administration. He also served as the president of the NYSSCPA from 2013–2014.
  • Kevin Matz, Secretary/Treasurer: Matz is a partner at Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP in Manhattan. He graduated with a B.S. from Herbert H. Lehman College of the City University of New York, a J.D. from Fordham University School of Law, and an LL.M. from New York University School of Law. Matz is a frequent author and lecturer on estate and tax planning topics, and co-author of the estate planning treatises, Manning on Estate Planning and Estate Planning for Professionals: Understanding What Is Needed for Estates of Any Size.
  • Harold L. Deiters III, Trustee: Deiters is a partner at Empire Valuation Consultants. He obtained his B.S. in accounting from St. John’s University in Jamaica, Queens. Deiters has also served as president of the NYSSCPA from 2017–2018.
  • Joseph M. Falbo, Jr., Trustee: Falbo is the tax partner at Szymkowiak & Associates CPAs, PC in Williamsville, New York. He specializes in international tax planning, consulting and compliance. Falbo earned his B.S. in accounting at Niagara University, and served as president of the NYSSCPA from 2015–2016.
  • Neil A. Gibgot, Trustee: Gibgot is the owner and managing partner of Gibgot, Willenbacher & Co. in Great Neck, New York. His firm specializes in accounting, auditing and bookkeeping. Gibgot received his B.S. in accounting from Long Island University, Brooklyn Campus.
  • Mark L. Meinberg, Trustee: Meinberg is partner-in-charge of EisnerAmper LLP’s Long Island office, and leads its Private Business Services Practice. He is regularly listed among the “Who’s Who in Accounting” in Long Island Business News. He earned his B.S. in accounting from Baruch College of the City University of New York.
  • F. Michael Zovistoski, Trustee: Zovistoski is a partner at UHY LLP, and the managing director at UHY Advisors NY, Inc., in Albany, New York. He obtained his B.B.A. from Siena College. Zovistoski served as NYSSCPA president from 2016–2017.

NYSSCPA President Ita M. Rahilly, NYSSCPA President-elect Edward L. Arcara, and, NYSSCPA Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer Joanne S. Barry sit on the Board of Trustees as nonvoting, ex-officio members. 

For all media inquiries, please contact Jovan C. Richards, Media & Government Relations Manager, at, or Maya Lindsay, Assistant Communications Manager, at

About the NYSSCPA
Founded in 1897, the New York State Society of CPAs ( is the premier professional accounting association for more than 24,000 licensed members residing and practicing in New York State, encompassing all areas of public practice, including government, education, technology, nonprofit, real estate and industry. It is the oldest—and the third largest—such state society in the United States.