Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Want to save this page for later?


Press Release

NYSSCPA Announces Moynihan Scholarship Fund’s Excellence in Accounting Winners

Maya Lindsay
Published Date:
Aug 27, 2019

NEW YORK – (August 27, 2019) – The New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants’ (NYSSCPA) Moynihan Scholarship Fund announced the 76 New York state students receiving the Excellence in Accounting Scholarships for the 2019-2020 school year.

The scholarships awarded provide financial assistance and encouragement to accounting majors, and were presented to students in the amounts of $2,500, $1,250, $1,000, and $500--$165,000 awarded, in total.

To be considered for a scholarship, a student must be a declared accounting major who achieved an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher and must be eligible for financial aid. NYSSCPA’s dedicated campus liaisons at 47 New York state colleges helped to identify the qualified students.

The Moynihan Scholarship Fund also honored four students, who had previously graduated from NYSSCPA’s Career Opportunities in the Accounting Profession (COAP) program with $10,000 scholarships. The $10,000 scholarships were awarded to high school graduates who will be starting college in the fall, to be presented over the next five years toward their tuition in a New York state college or university accounting program.The 2019 Moynihan Scholarship Fund’s Excellence in Accounting Scholarship recipients, listed by school, are--

  • Adelphi University: Pierce Gierloff, Sanjeda Begum, Donato Moneta
  • Alfred University: Angelica Sudore, Kelley Staub, Kourtney Keys
  • Baruch College: Jana Knauerova, Brian Mulvaney, Huibin Liu, Sinn Munn Siow,
  • Stephanie Wu, Yan Chen, Ka Ren Liu, Maria Wu Cen, Joseph Bordino, Xi Chen, Qi Liu, Kai Chen, Qiyu Liao, Christian Buonamassa
  • Canisius College: Jessica Kamienowski, Nicholas Myers, Kyle Murphy, Brianna LaPrell
  • The College of Saint Rose: Tiyana Epperson
  • Fordham University: Huiling Cai, Michelle Cheng
  • Hunter College: Ying Weng, Marlene Uraga
  • Iona College: Jamie Swenton, Malick Camara, Alizette Hidalgo, Rainier Guzman
  • Ithaca College: Luciarose Barone
  • Manhattan College: Caroline Ferri, Sarah Poons, Jazmin Savigne, Michele Rodriguez
  • Mercy College: Chen Chen, Eonathan Constanza Santana
  • Molloy College: Jessica Colombo, Kayla-Marie Lapitan, James Moore
  • Mount Saint Mary’s College: Jose Colotlacuateco
  • Nazareth College: Lul Ibrahim
  • Niagara University: William Acevedo
  • New York University: Varinia Munoz, Dorothy Yuen, Philipp Tereshenko, Chase Lin, Dena Samad
  • Rochester Institute of Technology: Priscilla Coats
  • Siena College: Owen Walker
  • St. Francis College: PeiJi Chen
  • St. John’s University, Staten Island: Joselyn Matamoros
  • St. Joseph’s College: Maria Aruanna
  • SUNY Albany: Adrian Hernandez
  • SUNY Binghamton: Mia Germaine
  • SUNY Buffalo: Scott Boehnke, Euijeong Wu, Tibor Von Maier, Anita Lin, Carly Gugino, Montana Copeland, Quinn Hodson
  • SUNY Fredonia: Russell Mistretta and Brittany Tuzzo
  • SUNY Geneseo: Angel Qiu, Allison Ludlow, Tomas Cesar
  • SUNY New Paltz: Hweida Sero, Natalie Yee
  • SUNY Oneonta: Martin Stone
  • SUNY Oswego: Brianah Lane, Wen Shi
  • Syracuse University: Andrea Borkowski

 The 2019 COAP Scholarship recipients, listed by school, are:

  • Adelphi University: Daniel Hernandez
  • Rochester Institute of Technology: Christian Jerry Hernandez
  • SUNY New Paltz: Adaeyja Chambers and Kajol Jatin Chudgar

About the NYSSCPA

Founded in 1897, the New York State Society of CPAs ( is the premier professional accounting association for more than 24,000 licensed members residing and practicing in New York State, encompassing all areas of public practice, including government, education, technology, nonprofit, real estate and industry. It is the oldest—and the third largest—such state society in the United States.